Global Happiness Policy Report

report cover

The Global Happiness Policy Report is produced by the Global Happiness Council (GHC) and contains papers by expert working groups on happiness for good governance. This report provides evidence and policy recommendations on best practices to promote happiness and well-being.

The Global Happiness Policy Report was presented at World Government Summit held in Dubai on February 10, 2018. Read the press release.

Global Happiness Council

The Global Happiness Council (GHC) is a new global network of leading academic specialists in happiness and key practitioners in areas ranging from psychology, economics, urban planning, civil society, business and government. The GHC identifies best practices at the national and local levels to encourage advancement of the causes of happiness and well-being.

Council members oversee the work of six thematic groups (education, workplace, personal happiness, public health, city design and management) who each produce a chapter of policy recommendations in the Global Happiness Policy Report, published annually and presented at the World Government Summit (WGS) in support the Global Dialogue for Happiness. This report provides evidence and policy advice to participating governments on best practices to promote happiness and well-being.

The work of the Council will be complementary to the World Happiness Reports and other research on the measurement and explanation of happiness. The aim of the GHC is to survey and share best practice policies drawn from the research literature and government experiences around the globe.

Council Members

  • Jeffrey Sachs

    Jeffrey Sachs

  • Aisha Bin Bishr

    Aisha Bin Bishr

  • Jan-Emmanuel De Neve

    Jan-Emmanuel De Neve

  • Martine Durand

    Martine Durand

  • Ed Diener

    Ed Diener

  • John F. Helliwell

    John F. Helliwell

  • Richard Layard

    Richard Layard

  • Martin E. P. Seligman

    Martin E. P. Seligman

  • Shawn Achor

    Shawn Achor

  • Ahmad Alshugairi

    Ahmad Alshugairi

  • Irina Bokova

    Irina Bokova

  • Dasho Karma Ura

    Dasho Karma Ura

  • Lise Kingo

    Lise Kingo

  • Sonja Lyubomirsky

    Sonja Lyubomirsky

  • Gus O'Donnell

    Gus O'Donnell

Committee Members

  • Ali al-Azzawi

    Ali al-Azzawi

  • Ger Baron

    Ger Baron

  • Scott Cain

    Scott Cain

  • David Halpern

    David Halpern

  • Charles Montgomery

    Charles Montgomery

  • Jennifer Moss

    Jennifer Moss

  • Carlo Ratti

    Carlo Ratti

  • Mauricio Rodas

    Mauricio Rodas

  • George Ward

    George Ward

  • Lea Waters

    Lea Waters

  • Ashley Whillans

    Ashley Whillans